song idea – drambuie

April 19, 2007 at 1:46 am | Posted in aspirations, celticish, instrumentals, octave mando, song ideas | 2 Comments

it’s been a long week and it’s only wednesday. I’m still having ear problems as reported elsewhere which causes a headache after a while. we did music at a special church service on Monday, which went well overall, but I found it nearly impossible to hear myself, so I laid back except for strumming chords.

anyway, I was enjoying a favorite beverage last night and was inspired to play a little and came up with this rough song idea, which I’ve dubbed “Drambuie”. I’m using the new stereo mic for my ipod recorder which sounds pretty good compared to the built-in one. but it still skips. I’ve figured out that it skips at 1:13 no matter what setting I’ve got it on (most likely when it’s writing to the harddrive) so we’ll see if I can get it replaced or what.

in other music stuff, we went to see Nathan Clark George play last week. a good singer-songwriter guy who does songs about life as well as scripture-based stuff. some of it isnt quite my thing but usually it’s good stuff. he takes his whole family on the road in their RV around the country, which I both admire and think is somewhat crazy. so for 2 years in a row now we’ve seen him at a little church down the road, and we buy a couple CDs not only for the music but to support the cause. he does inspire me to want to try to write songs…now just to find the time to sit down and do it!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. HI BOB (AND FAMILY), MADE MYSELF A RUSTY NAIL LAST NITE. BOUGHT SOME DRAMBUIE A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO. WHEN DID THEY CHANGE THE CORK TOP TO A SCREW ONE? NEER HURT MY WRIST TRYING TO “UNCORK” IT. ANYWHO, LIKE YOUR LITTLE DITTY. BEEN PLAYING OFFERTORIES IN CHURCH EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS ON ALTO AND SOPRANO. THEY SEEM TO LIKE IT. I’VE FOUND A GOOD SOURCE FOR STORE BOUGHT MUSIC ARRANGED FOR INSTRUMENTS. DAVID E. SMITH PUB. ON THE SONG, I’VE ALWAYS LIKED WHEN A 2/4 MEASURE WAS STUCK INTO AN INTERESTING SPOT OF A 4/4 SONG. I WISH I HAD GOOD RECORDINGS OF MY STUFF, BUT THE RECORDER @ CHURCH IS FOR SERMONS NOT MUSIC (30 YEAR OLD CASSETTE). BEST TO ALL, UB

  2. hi uncle bill.
    I know exactly what you mean about the screw-top: I had to use my vise-grips to get mine open! good to hear you’re still doing well with playing. take care.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

