“lover and friend” mp3

May 23, 2007 at 2:20 am | Posted in aspirations, mellow folk, song ideas, songs with words | 1 Comment

I’m looking forward to getting together with the guys and giving this tune the full treatment, but here’s my solo guitar version of Lover and Friend. I think I like the tune pretty well but I want to work on my phrasing some, not that I really know very much about such things. hopefully in a little while I’ll have a full-band version to share. any comments are always welcome.

hopefully this will lead to a regular habit of writing songs, and in fact I was inspired to write another (too many boring meetings at work leaves one looking for diversions). so I wrote a little love song for Michelle last week and put together a simple tune for it today. I’m calling it “Not Enough” but I’m not sure it’s ready to see the light of day. I like what it’s trying to say but I’m not sure it’s saying it right yet, so maybe I’ll rework the idea sometime. one thing inspiring about one of my favorite songwriters (Bill Mallonee of the Vigilantes of Love) is that you can follow threads of ideas through different songs and albums. he even borrows entire lines from one song in another occassionally.

my first little forays have been fun and a good learning experience. I just hope that I can write songs that I’d listen to myself if someone else did them. above all I hope that whatever I do can somehow be useful, helpful or somehow of service to someone.

update: here’s a version with some help. MUCH better.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love that you’re writing songs! They are definitely useful and helpful to me in getting my little heart to go pitter patter. I love you huns!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

