Zay 43

June 4, 2007 at 4:44 pm | Posted in church music | Leave a comment

Our song for church this Sunday was Isaiah 43, which I think I learned back at Covenant. I’ve liked the song fine, but never thought too much of it. But recently Beth suggested that we try it in church, so at practice we gave it a try and something just clicked about it. I’m not sure what it is, but the rhythm section really sounded great. Dave had a cool walkdown thing going and Mark was percussing quite well and Joe kept the drive steady with the guitar. There’s enough pauses to add some little mando riffs in there which was fun.

But at practice I wasn’t sure about the vocals. Megan always sounds great but it was a little out of my range for the guy part. So I got Michelle and Beth to help out and the 3 women sounded really really good together. And at the last minute Jim joined in and added a recorder part, bringing us up to 8 people on stage. I always love it when there’s a bunch of us on a song that holds well with a big group.

I tried to get the congregation to join us after the first verse. Not too long ago we had them join us on the chorus for “On Jordan’s…” and that was great, so I’ve been trying to find more songs that the people could join in on. I was assuming this one would be familiar, but I guess most people didn’t know it too well, so it wasn’t that great. But hopefully we can bring it back in a little while and have it part of our regular rotation. We’ll see. I guess I’ll have to be more careful with song-selection if we want more participation?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

