my song in church

October 25, 2007 at 8:56 am | Posted in church music, mellow folk | Leave a comment

this Sunday will be a first: we’re going to play one of my songs in church. it’s the instrumental song I’ve been working on lately that I’ve been calling “Solitude“. I’ve actually never really liked this title, so I’ve renamed it to “Be Still” — partly because it’s silly to call a song “Solitude” if there’s more than one person playing, partly in reference to the “Be still and know that I am God” passage, and partly in reference to Katie’s awesome painting of the same title.

so Jim is going to back me up on bass (or perhaps mandolin) and I’ll be on my octave with my little tune. I’m more nervous than usual, since the last time I tried something similar almost exactly a year ago it didnt go too well (see the last paragraph). but the difference is this is my song, so it’s pretty well ingrained in me.

since it’s essentially a one chord song, we’re keeping it short. I’m looking forward to what Jim will come up with, and hoping and praying that it will be a help to our worship service.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

