Be Still/All Creatures

October 29, 2007 at 9:42 pm | Posted in church music, mellow folk, octave mando | Leave a comment

Jim and I played my little song in church, but with a wonderful twist: Jim figured out that he could weave the melody for “All Creatures of Our God and King” through my picking. it took us a little while to figure it out, and it could actually use a little more polishing, but I think the result was very nice. some folks in church had nice things to say about it too, which is always good to hear. I give full credit to Jim for coming up with the melding and turning this rather simple progression into something much more. playing it during the services I was pretty nervous, so I messed it up a little, but probably not enough that anyone besides Michelle and Jim would notice. so I’m glad and thankful that it went pretty well. I’m still not very confident in my songwriting and solo playing abilities, especially in the context of church, but I think experience is helping. as my good friend Lynn reminds us, when you’re serving God with what He’s given you, you cant give into fear.

so here’s a rough version from our practice session. it’s not quite right here, but then again I dont think we ever got it quite right…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

