Simple Songs – track 1

January 3, 2008 at 10:43 am | Posted in favorites, instrumentals, octave mando, Simple Songs (1st album) | 3 Comments

now that I’ve got my new recording device, I’ve decided to put it to good use and record an album of my little acoustic songs. I think I’ll call it “Simple Songs” since, well, my songs are pretty simple and low-key. so I took a crack at recording the song I’ve been working with on-and-off for a while. I’m pretty happy with the recording quality so far, and hopefully I can learn to bring out the best sound with it. I’ve identified a couple things I can do better, so I may go back and re-do this one eventually.

so here’s my first track called Be Still (which I’ve shared before in a different version).

I have no idea if a whole album of this kind of song will appeal to anyone or not, but so far I’m enjoying the process. I have a goal of putting down 10 tracks by July, and I’ve got about 15 “song ideas” to work with so far (and I usually come up with a handful more now and then). now on to identify which song idea I’ll try to polish off next.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh wow!! That is MUCH clearer and the sound is great. NICE! I love the song too. When you get your album put together – I’d buy it!

  2. thanks Em! I think I’ll let family have it free :-) or perhaps do the Radiohead thing and say “pay what you’d like.”

    oh and in case you’d like to know, for the 2nd track I’m going to do a medly with “bye lo my baby” and 2 other similar songs…one made up by Caleb (“Birdies fly away”) and one made up by me and Michelle for the kids (“you’re my baby”). we’ll see how it goes!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

