learning to read

February 25, 2008 at 12:02 pm | Posted in aspirations, learning | Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking more about my long-term goals as a musician, especially as it relates to playing church music. since I play by ear and chords, it’s hard to accompany some things in church. and things are changing with our music at church (which isnt unusual), since Jim is heading to the mission field, so we’ll be down a mandolin player (among many other things) who can read music and play anything. plus it’d be really cool to pick up a fiddle tune (or whatever) and just play it (I’ve got a book with a ton of them).

so I’ve decided to finally do what I’ve wanted to do for a long time: learn how to read music for the mandolin. I know all the basics of reading music, having played trumpet long ago in school. but seeing a note and playing it without hesitation is of course another matter. so I’ve started with an old mandolin method book (from Jim).

I’ve got a lot of irons in the musical fire (my instrumental songs, writing various other songs that seem to always be coming up, church music, etc) but I’m sure this one will be as valuable as any other. I know it’ll be hard work to get proficient, but I’m hoping it doesnt take so long as to be frustrating. we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

