Portland Waltz

March 2, 2008 at 11:03 pm | Posted in favorites, instrumentals, mellow folk, octave mando, Simple Songs (1st album) | Leave a comment

so I’m here in Portland Maine for a work thing, and when I have time I’m working on my Simple Songs. after a lovely pub dinner and a couple beers downtown I returned tired but ready to try to get a track down. the only problem was this rather noisey hvac unit outside, but thankfully this track isnt a very quiet one. but I did do a take in the bathroom just to see if it would sound better or not. so here’s the newly dubbed “Portland Waltz”. (I only yesterday realized it’s in 3/4 time, and I figured since I’m putting it down here in Maine, I might as well put it in the name for posterity).

here’s take 1 (in the bathroom) – less mistakes on this one I think

here’s take 2 (in the rest of the room)  – sound is a little more mellow I think

it’s a little tune I’ve been working on for a little while, and it contains 3 simple parts. usually I play the parts ABABCA but sometimes you never know how it’ll come out.

I think one of those takes will do for this one…on to the next!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

