Intercede – Romans 8:26

March 17, 2008 at 9:54 am | Posted in church music, lyrics only, song ideas | Leave a comment

here’s a very short lyric based on Romans 8:26.

I am weary
I am weak
Dont know what to pray
Or how to speak

Come Holy Spirit
Intercede
Without words
Groan for me

Spirit pray
To God for us
So Jesus love
Will cover us

a couple random thoughts on this:

perhaps it could be in the genre of that I call the “campfire songs” (like “As the Deer” and such), or perhaps something like John Michael Talbot would do (I really like a bunch of his scripture songs and aspire to that kind of Bible-based songwriting). perhaps I can expand it by including 8:27 as well. 

I feel like a lot of the times I write stuff it’s too wordy. clearly this one isnt. I like that it’s pretty close to the actual Bible verse. hopefully I can write a little tune for it that is appropriate and yet “catchy” enough to stick in my head, because I often need to pray this. Michelle has recently learned about contemplative prayer and this seems to fit with a lot of what that’s about.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

